

Press Release: to be published on Tuesday, 12th March 2013

A special report to be written for each eProject

eGovernment Excellence Award Jury Begin Evaluation Process of eProjects

Manama, Kingdom of Bahrain – 13^{th} March, 2013 - Under the patronage of His Highness Shaikh Mohammed bin Mubarak Al Khalifa, Deputy Prime Minister and Chairman of the Supreme Committee for Information and Communication Technology; the organizing committee of the 6^{th} eGovernment Excellence Award 2013 has announced that the jury, which comprises of international and local members, commences the evaluation of more than one hundred entries for this year's awarding event. This follows the recent close of submissions for the award on February 28^{th} .

The jury committee of this year's ceremony is composed of highly-experienced international, GCC and local members in the ICT field. It is chaired by Jeremy Millard who is a Senior Consultant, Associate Research Fellow and Managing Consultant in the UK and Denmark. Millard had earned his BA and MA in Geography and Social Sciences; some of his recent assignments include leading an impact assessment of the European eGovernment 2010 Action Plan and a comprehensive study on eParticipation.

Jury members include names like Dr. Elsa Estevez - Academic Programme Officer from the UNU-IIST Center for Electronic Governance; Eng. Hanan Abdu Sattar Ahmed - Service Delivery Specialist and eGovernment Project Manager in Qatar - representing the *GCC public sector*; Dr. *Abdullah* Khalifa Al Thawadi - General Manager of Enterprise and Government Business in Batelco - representing the *telecommunications sector*. Along with Dr. Mohammed Baqer - Senior Director at National Authority for Qualifications and Quality Assurance for Education and Training in Bahrain - representing *quality assurance sector*; Dr. Khalid AlMutawah - Director of Information Technology Center and Assistant Professor at the Information Technology College in the University of Bahrain - representing the *academic field*. Accompanied by Ali AlSabbagh - Board Leader of Social Media Club (Bahrain and Middle East Chapters) - representing the *Non-Governmental Organizations sector (NGOs)* As well as experienced young entrepreneurs in the area of electronic marketing.

The jury committee will focus on investigating and evaluating the registered projects. Disqualified participants will benefit from the committee's final report in which remarks and instructions of the committee members will be given to assist them in developing and improving their projects. The evaluation feedback in presenting suggestions would progress and enlighten participants to take into consideration.



The award is primarily designed to enhance the concept of governance and transfer information in order to ensure that services are optimally offered for the general public.

The evaluation process will continue until 14th March, where participants of every category selected as winners will be announced during the opening of *Bahrain International eGovernment Forum 2013* - held under the patronage of H.H. Shaikh Mohammed bin Mubarak Al Khalifa on 8th of April 2013. The winning participations will be honored by His Highness.

The winning projects in the *Government Sector* will be officially qualified to represent the Kingdom of Bahrain in the *GCC eGovernment Award 2013* which will be organized in the United Arab Emirates (UAE).

This year's eGovernment Excellence Award consists of ten categories divided into three entities - *Government* and *Multi-Sectors* as well as *Individuals*. The *Government Sector* includes four categories - Best eContent, Best eService, eMaturity, and Best eProject. The *Multi-Sector* includes four categories - Best ICT Solutions Provider, eEconomy, eEducation, eNGOs. The *Individuals'* category includes two - eCitizen and Best eConcept.

The eCitizen selection will be made based on effective participation as well as the highest number and volume of transactions conducted on the eGovernment portal during the last year.

For more information or participation on the eGovernment Excellence Award 2013, please visit www.egovawards.bh.

- END -

Photo Caption:

Group photo of the eGovernment Excellence Award 2013 jury members.